Iris Inc.

Songs you should never play with your parents in the car

So let’s imagine your sitting in the back seat of your parents’ car, enjoying the view of the country-side/construction area/polluted sky/naked people running around (whatever your choice) and humming along to the song on the radio when suddenly the  singers sings something like this “yeah baby, I can give it to you all night, make you scream my name til the morning light”. Okay, I just made the lyrics up myself but doesn’t it sound awfully familiar to most of the songs that are being aired nowadays. It’s all about sex, screw all those singers who repeatedly say “it’s all bout the music, man” cause we know it ain’t true. I don’t really have much against these songs no matter what it’s trying to promote but the only thing is it creates a lot of awkward moments in the car when my parents happen to be listening to it too.

I don’t know if anybody else feels the same way since some people turn on their radio at such a small volume all you can hear is a low buzzing sound. Anyway, here’s a list (I’m rather fond of making lists, don’t you think?) of a few songs that I could come up with in the spur of the moment that might cause some uneasiness when heard with your parents in the car.

1. Katy Perry – I Kissed A Girl

I bet you were expecting this weren’t you? I mean how could I not include this into my list after the amount controversy and publicity it generated. It’s almost like every teenager’s anthem of the year with it’s catchy tune and suggestive lyrics. But no matter how good it is, it’s definitely not the best song to listen to with your folks around. I’m sure my mom would glare at me suspiciously if she hears me singing this song cause let’s face it, the ‘rents don’t really get the whole ‘gay’ thing and to them it’s a major no no to kiss a girl (if you’re a girl) and then like it.

2. Nine Inch Nails – Closer

I won’t have to explain why you shoud never NEVER listen to this song with your parents after you hear it. I find this song amazingly addictive and I bet certain couples do to but I don’t think any parent would want to know their child is listening to it. With it’s more than blunt chorus singing the words “I want to f*** you like an animal, I want to feel you from the inside”, just knowing the existence of this song would make parents faint, well at least I think it’ll make my mom faint.

3. 50 Cents – Candy Shop

“I’ll take you to the candy shop, I’ll let you lick the lollipop, go ‘head girl don’t you stop, keep goin ’til you hit the spot” Uhh…Okay, the word ‘lollipop’ is open for interpretation but I’m sure you know what it means and I’m pretty sure your parents know what it means to, no matter what a prude they can be sometimes so this song is best avoided in the presence of the ‘rents.

4. The Veronicas – Take Me On the Floor

I’m so addicted to this song right now but I sure won’t want to hear it with my parents, especially my mom, again. It’s not just the title ‘take me on the floor’ woohoo but more over there’s a part where they sing ‘I wanna kiss a girl’ again and again before being followed swiftly by ‘I wanna kiss a boy”. As I mentioned before, gay and parents don’t mix, or in the case of this song, bisexuality and parents don’t mix well. I can imagine my mom pulling a face and saying “this is disgusting!“. So, yeah unless your parents are like super cool, this song is a no no.

5. Martin Gaye – Sexual Healing

I chose this song not for the sake of my parents but for the sake of myself. I’m not sure if other parents like it but my parents sure don’t have a problem listening to it in the car though I can say the opposite for myself. I don’t understand why I can listen to Kelis singing bout her ‘milkshakes’ without feeling the least bit disgusted (I rather like it by the way) but everytime I hear this song I’ll cringe. Maybe it’s the thought of someone from my parents’ generation singing sexual songs that really creep me out when people of that time should be singing bout hills and valleys (remember The Sound of Music?). Or maybe it’s the way Martin Gaye sings it according to my sister’s opinion. No matter the reasons and how ridicolous they might sound, I won’t suggest anyone to listen to it with or without their parents.

Well I could go on typing a whole list full of songs that you should never play with your parents in the car but I won’t since I’m wayyyyy too lazy to continue and my eyelids are betraying me, plus I’m sure you can come up with an unending list youselves. But as a closing to this rather insignificant post, if you happen to be in a car with your parents and the radio happens to play one of these songs, I suggest you just look out the window pretending like you’re not listening to it and pull an emo face to make it more convincing.

October 12, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. haha.. paula again.. i never listen any one of these songs.. >< but, i totally agree wif u.. especially Nine Inch Nails – Closer.. it’s sooo disgusting.. but i think the lyric is quite ‘cool’?? or i should say funny?? haha =p

    Comment by Jane | October 15, 2008

  2. yea haha long time didn’t talk bout paula leh…u should listen to i kiss a girl leh i bet u like it muahahaha

    Comment by irisinc | October 16, 2008


Leave a Reply

